

SA Wheelchair Tennis team announced

Wheelchair Tennis South Africa (WTSA) has announced the South African team for the forthcoming ITF World Team Cup today, 16 March, 2011. The event will be held at the University of Pretoria Sports Grounds from 25 April to 1 May, 2011, its first time in Africa.



Team South Africa will be one of 34 nations vying for gold and our team will compete against a pool of approximately 300 players. The tournament categories include the Men's World Group I and World Group II, Women's World Group, plus Quad and Junior groups. WTSA will host the best players from around the globe, including world-renowned Netherlands' player Esther Vergeer, the women's world number oneand twice recipient of the Laureas Award for Sportsperson with a Disability.

The power and tenacity of the human spirit

The tournament's director, Holger Losch, said: "Securing the ITF World Team Cup for South Africa is an honour and a privilege, and one that few countries outside Europe are able to boast. World Cup events appeal to the entire nation and we expect that even non-tennis enthusiasts will get involved in celebrating the game and supporting Team South Africa. We hope that by bringing this prominent tournament to the African continent, our nation will experience the incredible thrill of wheelchair tennis and watching our athletes demonstrate the power and tenacity of the human spirit."

Being a team event means players are not collecting match points for themselves; when Team South Africa takes on a rival country, the result of the two singles matches and the deciding doubles match will count to determine which nation remains in the race for the crown.

The strongest opposition

In the men's event South Africa's plays in the B draw where they anticipate their strongest opposition will be against Colombia, the 2010 defending champions. The favourites in the women's division are The Netherlands, also victors in 2010, and are spearheaded by world number one Esther Vergeer. The quads and juniors will participate in a round robin, where they will be teamed up against the top-seven nations in their divisions, including the 2010 title holders, the US and The Netherlands, respectively.

Championing the cause for the South African scoreboard is a team that has been hand-selected from five provinces. No surprises in the line-up, the 10 individuals are single-minded in their pursuit of glory and hope, through winning performances, to bring honour to our country.

Men's Division

- 1. Sydwell Mathonsi
- 2. Evans Maripa
- 3. Marshall Marsh

Women's Division

- 1. Kgothatso Montjane
- 2. Celia du Toit

Quad's Division

- 1. Lucas Sithole
- 2. Steven Kekai
- 3. David Mathebula

Junior's Division

- 1. Thabang Gift Lekganyane
- 2. Donald Ramphadi

Team SA Manager

1. Marius Masencamp

Coaches

- 1. Gerald Stoffberg Men's division
- 2. Rene Plant Women's division
- 3. Khotso Matshego Quads' division
- 4. Craig Fairall Juniors' division

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com