

## Sanlam Financial Journo awards winners

The 2010 Sanlam Awards for Excellence in Financial Journalism, which attracted 110 entries from 70 journalists representing 25 different publications, Internet news services and radio and TV stations, was last week won by Rob Rose, former *Financial Mail* and currently investigations reporter at the *Sunday Times' Business Times*.



Prof. Anton Harber, Rob Rose and Johan van Zvl.

Apart from taking the overall prize for Financial Journalist of the Year for 2009, Rose was adjudged the winner in two sections for magazines and weekly newspapers, namely for Economy and Industries, and Markets and Companies. He was adjudged the best newcomer to the competition in 2002 and took Markets and Companies in 2006 and again in 2008.

His award came as a close tussle with Jan de Lange, labour and mining reporter at Sake24 whose strong challenge comprised no fewer than three section prizes, two in the Daily Newspapers and Internet sections for Economy and Industries, as well as Markets and Companies, and finally, for the special section, Labour.

## Other winners

- Stephen Cranston, associate editor of Financial Mail, joint winner in Markets and Companies (Magazines and weekly newspapers);
- Bruce Cameron of Personal Finance (Personal Finance: Newspapers, financial magazines and Internet)
- Mariëtte Crafford from Rooi Rose (Personal Finance: Non-financial publications);
- Joint winners in the Broadcast section, Sue Beukes of CNBC Africa and, from SABC 3, Siki Mgabadeli and Nikiwe Bikitsha with a joint entry.

## **Judges**

- Prof. Anton Harber (former journalist/editor and currently Director: Wits School of Journalism and Media Studies),
- Robert Brand (former journalist and currently the Pearson Chair of Economics Journalism, Rhodes School of Journalism and Media Studies),
- Ulrich Joubert (economist at Kruger International),
- Reg Rumney (former financial journalist/editor and currently Director: Centre for Economics Journalism in Africa, Rhodes School of Journalism and Media Studies),
- Conrad Sidego (former journalist, public relations practitioner and diplomat and currently director of companies),
- Caroline Southey (former journalist/financial editor and currently director of Community Banking Strategy and Reporting at Standard Bank),
- Hein Swart (former business editor and parliamentary representative of Die Burger in Cape Town),
- Peter Vundla (deputy executive chairperson: AMB Holdings)

Some of the winning entries will be available on www.journalism.co.za.

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com