🗱 BIZCOMMUNITY

Nominees for the 49th Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards announced

The nominees for the prestigious 49th annual Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards have been announced. Prizes will be presented to the winners at a glamorous event that will be held at the Baxter Theatre in Cape Town on Sunday 16 March at 6pm.



Each award carries a R15 000 cash prize as well as a silver medal, making it one of the most coveted theatre awards in the industry. "For almost five decades, the awards have recognised and affirmed the rich diversity and excellence within the performing arts fraternity in the Western Cape," says Melanie Burke, chairperson of the panel of judges.

Irma Albers, Arts & Culture Controller of Distell, says the Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards is one of the flagship Arts & Culture initiatives supported by the Distell Foundation and is a premier event on the South African social calendar. Lara Bye will direct the awards ceremony that will feature a stellar entertainment line-up.

Awards are presented in twenty different categories and the panel of judges make their decisions after having viewed almost a hundred productions hosted in several venues in and around Cape Town.

Last year 84 productions were eligible for the awards. For a production to qualify, a run of a minimum of eight performances over a period of three weeks at the same venue is required.

The judges for the 2013 productions were Africa Melane, Coreen Lloyd, Dr Beverley Brommert, Dr Gabriël Botma, Gillian Mitchell, Herman van der Westhuizen, Jill Markram, Len Ashton, Mariana Malan, Marina Griebenow, Peter Tromp, Rone Arendse, Johan van Lill, Eugene Yiga and Tracey Saunders.

The voting process is audited and overseen by the legal firm, Cluver Markotter Inc.

The nominees in the various categories are as follows:

BEST PERFORMANCE BY A LEAD ACTOR IN A PLAY

Albert Pretorius, James Cairns and Rob van Vuuren for The Three Little Pigs as various characters Brendon Daniels for Rooiland as Adidas Graham Hopkins for Vigil as Kemp Lionel Newton for The Miser as Harpagon

BEST PERFORMANCE BY A LEAD ACTRESS IN A PLAY

Janna Ramos-Violante for Venus in Fur as Vanda Jordan Jennifer Steyn for The Milk Train Doesn't Stop Here Anymore as Flora "Sissy" Goforth Kate Liquorish for My Name Is Rachel Corrie as Rachel Corrie Thembi Mtshali-Jones for A Woman In Waiting as various characters

BEST PERFORMANCE BY A SUPPORTING ACTOR IN A PLAY

Atandwa Kani for The Miser as Valere Charlton George for Rooiland as Pastoor Terence Bridgett for A Midsummer Night's Dream as Nick Bottom and Pyramus Wilhelm van der Walt for Rooiland as Francie

BEST PERFORMANCE BY A SUPPORTING ACTRESS IN A PLAY

Hannah Borthwick for A Midsummer Night's Dream as Helena Kate Liquorish for The Miser as Elise, daughter of Harpagon Patricia Boyer for The Miser as Frosine and Master Jacques Vanessa Cooke for Vigil as Grace

BEST PERFORMANCE BY A LEAD ACTOR IN A MUSICAL OR MUSIC THEATRE SHOW

Brendan van Rhyn for The Rocky Horror Show as Frank-N-Furter Grant Almirall for Jersey Boys as Frankie Valli Jonathan Roxmouth for Sunset Boulevard as Joe Gillis Paul du Toit for The Rocky Horror Show as Brad

BEST PERFORMANCE BY A LEAD ACTRESS IN A MUSICAL OR MUSIC THEATRE SHOW

Angela Kilian for Sunset Boulevard as Norma Desmond Bianca le Grange for Blood Brothers as Mrs Johnstone Jenny Stead for The Rocky Horror Show as Janet Taryn Sudding for Noel and Gertie as Gertrude Lawrence

BEST PERFORMANCE BY A SUPPORTING ACTOR IN A MUSICAL OR MUSIC THEATRE SHOW

Adrian Galley for The Rocky Horror Show as the Narrator Andrew Laubscher for The Rocky Horror Show as Riff Raff Duane Alexander for Jersey Boys as Bob Crewe James Borthwick for Sunset Boulevard as Max von Mayerling

BEST PERFORMANCE BY A SUPPORTING ACTRESS IN A MUSICAL OR MUSIC THEATRE SHOW

Andréa Frankson for Blood Brothers as Linda Dominique Maher for The Rocky Horror Show as Columbia Bethany Dickson for Sunset Boulevard as Betty Schaefer Daneel van der Walt for The Rocky Horror Show as Magenta

BEST PERFORMANCE IN A REVUE, CABARET OR ONE-PERSON SHOW

Jemma Kahn for The Epicene Butcher and Other Stories For Consenting Adults as the storyteller Kate Liquorish for My Name Is Rachel Corrie as Rachel Corrie Phillip Dikotla for Skierlik as various characters Thembi Mtshali-Jones for A Woman In Waiting as various characters

AWARD FOR MOST PROMISING STUDENT

Daniel Richards [UCT] Dean John Smith [US] Emma Kotze [UCT] Gantane Gwane Kusch [UCT] Lea Seekoe [UCT]

BEST DIRECTOR

Jaco Bouwer for Rooiland Mark Fleishman for Voices Made Night Sylvaine Strike for The Miser Tara Notcutt for The Three Little Pigs

BEST LIGHTING DESIGN

Daniel Galloway for The Rocky Horror Show Jaco Bouwer for Rooiland Mark Fleishman and Craig Leo for Voices Made Night Paul Abrams for Sadako

BEST SET DESIGN

Chen Nakar and Sarah Roberts for The Miser Craig Leo for Voices Made Night Jaco Bouwer for Rooiland Saul Radomsky for Die Laaste Karretjiegraf

BEST COSTUME DESIGN

Marcel Meyer for The Milk Train Doesn't Stop Here Anymore Penny Simpson for Sunset Boulevard Penny Simpson for The Rocky Horror Show Sarah Roberts for The Miser

BEST SOUND DESIGN, ORIGINAL MUSIC COMPOSITION OR ORIGINAL SCORE

Braam du Toit for Rooiland (Original Score and Sound Design) Charl-Johan Lingenfelder for The Milk Train Doesn't Stop Here Anymore (Original Score) James Webb for Die Laaste Karretjiegraf (Sound Scape) Matthew MacFarlane for Hayani (Composition and Live Performance) 16. BEST PUPPETRY DESIGN Fred Abrahamse and Marcel Meyer for A Midsummer Night's Dream Janni Younge for Sadako

BEST NEW SOUTH AFRICAN SCRIPT

Albert Pretorius, James Cairns, Rob van Vuuren and Tara Notcutt for The Three Little Pigs Nicholas Spagnoletti for Civil Parting Phillip Dikotla for Skierlik Tertius Kapp for Rooiland

ROSALIE VAN DER GUCHT PRIZE FOR NEW DIRECTORS

Gabriella Pinto Megan Young Penelope Youngleson Zanne Solomon

The People's Choice will no longer be awarded. In the spirit of the Awards, the funds previously allocated to this category will be dedicated to Theatre Development, thus growing future talent in the industry. The AWARD FOR INNOVATION IN THEATRE and the LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD will be announced at the awards ceremony.

Tickets to the Awards cost R150 per person and include canapés and Fleur du Cap wines. Follow the Awards on Twitter @FDCTheatreAward; Facebook: <u>http://on.fb.me/YuZtCk</u> . <u>Website</u>

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com