

## Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards nominees announced

The nominees for the 50th annual Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards, to be presented on Sunday, 15 March, 2015, at 6pm at the Artscape Opera House in Cape Town, have been announced.

"Five decades ago the Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards started with only six categories and 17 productions that were eligible," said Melanie Burke, chairman of the adjudicating panel. She added that today awards are presented in 18 different categories and last year a total of 74 productions were eligible. In addition, 57 student performances were considered for the Most Promising Student Award.

Chris Weare, a Fleur du Cap alumnus, will direct the awards ceremony and a unique event is planned to celebrate the successes of the past 50 years, including an entertainment line-up that will feature some of our top local artists.



## The judges

The judges for 2014 productions were: Africa Melane, Dr Beverley Brommert, Christine Moritz, Eugene Yiga, Gillian Mitchell, Herman van der Westhuizen, Jill Markram, Johan van Lill, Len Ashton, Mariana Malan, Marina Griebenow, Peter Tromp, Steyn du Toit and Tracey Saunders. Stephanie Klink completed a year-long internship in 2014 and has been accepted to join the panel of judges in 2015.

For a production to be eligible, a run of a minimum of eight performances over a period of three weeks at the same venue is required. Each award carries a cash prize of R15, 000 and each award recipient is given a silver medallion. All voting processes are audited and overseen by the legal firm Cluver Markotter.

The nominees (in alphabetical order) in the various categories are:

#### 1. BEST PERFORMANCE BY A LEAD ACTOR IN A PLAY

Albert Pretorius for Playland as Gideon le Roux Chris van Niekerk for 2092: God van Klank as Hernon Freytag Jamie Bartlett for Death of a Colonialist as Harold Smith Khayalethu Anthony for The Champion as Thulani Matthew Marsh for A Human Being Died That Night as Eugéne de Kock

#### 2. BEST PERFORMANCE BY A LEAD ACTRESS IN A PLAY

Emily Child for The Pervert Laura as Laura

Janna Ramos-Violante for Constellations as Marianne

Mikkie-Dene le Roux for Grounded as The Pilot

Noma Dumezweni for A Human Being Died That Night as Pumla Gobodo-Madikizela

Sandra Prinsloo for Oscar and the Pink Lady as various characters



#### 3. BEST PERFORMANCE BY A SUPPORTING ACTOR IN A PLAY

Guy de Lancey for The Pervert Laura as Father Mbulelo Grootboom for Playland as Marthinus Zoeloe Phillip Tipo Tindisa for Fishers of Hope (Taweret) as John Richard September for Rondomskrik as various characters Tobie Cronjé for Vettie Vettie as Henry

#### 4. BEST PERFORMANCE BY A SUPPORTING ACTRESS IN A PLAY

Buhle Ngaba for Missing as Ayanda

Jennifer Steyn for The Tragedy of King Richard III as Queen Elizabeth

Kate Liquorish for The Tragedy of King Richard III as Lady Anne, 2nd Citizen and the Cardinal

Kensiwe Tshabalala for Vanya & Sonia & Masha & Spike as Cassandra

Lee-Ann van Rooi for Rondomskrik as various characters

### 5. BEST PERFORMANCE IN A REVUE, CABARET OR ONE-PERSON SHOW

Godfrey Johnson for Vaslav as Vaslav Nijinsky Khayalethu Anthony for The Champion as Thulani Lizz Meiring for Cheaper than Roses as Betty Fourie Mikki-Dene le Roux for Grounded as The Pilot Sandra Prinsloo for Oscar and the Pink Lady as various characters



#### 6. BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTOR IN A MUSICAL OR MUSIC THEATRE SHOW

Daniel Richards for Fergus of Galloway as Fergus Godfrey Johnson for Vaslav as Vaslav Nijinsky James Borthwick for The Sound of Music as Max Detweiler Jonathan Roxmouth for Call me Lee as Liberace Sne Dladla for Fergus of Galloway as various characters

# 7. BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTRESS IN A MUSICAL OR MUSIC THEATRE SHOW

Bethany Dickson for The Sound of Music as Maria Rainer Carmen Pretorius for The Sound of Music as Liesl von Trapp Janelle Visagie for The Sound of Music as Mother Abbess Lucy Tops for Bar None as Betty Taryn Sudding for The Sound of Music as Baroness Schreuder

#### 8. AWARD FOR MOST PROMISING STUDENT

David Viviers (UCT)
Dylan Owen (UCT)
Nathan Lynn (UCT)
Sive Gubangxa (UCT)
Skye Russel (UCT)

#### 9. BEST DIRECTOR

Alan Swerdlow for Constellations
Jaco Bouwer for Balbesit
Lara Foot for Fishers of Hope (Taweret)
Marí Borstlap for 2092 : God van Klank
Tara Notcutt for ...miskien

#### 10. BEST LIGHTING DESIGN

Benever (Bennie) Arendse for Fishers of Hope (Taweret)

Daniel Galloway for A Human Being Died That Night (Original design: Tim Mitchell)

Guy de Lancey and Luke Ellenbogen for The Pervert Laura Paule Constable for War Horse Wolf Britz for Balbesit

#### 11. BEST SET DESIGN

Albert Maritz for Playland
Marí Borstlap for 2092: God van Klank
Patrick Curtis for Fishers of Hope (Taweret)
Robert Jones for The Sound of Music
Saul Radomsky for The Shadow of the Hummingbird



#### 12. BEST COSTUME DESIGN

Jonathan Roxmouth for Call me Lee Leigh Bishop for Slowly Rae Smith for War Horse Reza Levy for The Tragedy of King Richard III Robert Jones for The Sound of Music

## 13. BEST SOUND DESIGN, ORIGINAL MUSIC COMPOSITION OR ORIGINAL SCORE

Braam du Toit for Balbesit - Original score Godfrey Johnson for Vaslav - Original Music Marí Borstlap for 2092: God van Klank - Soundscape, soundtrack Motshepe Pusho Kwagane for Silent Voice - Percussionist (live) Nceba Gongxeka for Fishers of Hope (Taweret) - Musician (live)

#### 14. BEST PUPPETRY DESIGN

Adrian Kohler and Basil Jones for War Horse - Puppet design, fabrication and direction Alida van Deventer for The Snow Goose - Puppet props Jenine Collocott for The Snow Goose - Masks and puppet props

#### 15. BEST NEW SOUTH AFRICAN SCRIPT

2092: God van Klank by Wilken Calitz A Human Being Died That Night by Nicholas Wright Death of a Colonialist by Greg Latter The Kingmakers by Louis Viljoen The Pervert Laura by Louis Viljoen

#### 16. ROSALIE VAN DER GUCHT PRIZE FOR NEW DIRECTORS

Khayalethu Mofu for The Champion Koleka Putuma for Uhm Louis Viljoen for The Kingmakers and The Pervert Laura Marí Borstlap for 2092: God van Klank Thando Doni for Passage

The Award for Innovation in Theatre and the Lifetime Achievement Award: will be announced at the awards ceremony.

Tickets for the Fleur du Cap Theatre Awards ceremony to be held at the Artscape Opera House cost R200 per person via Computicket (0861 9158000) and +27 (0)21 421 7695 and include canapés and Fleur du Cap wines. Follow the awards on Twitter <u>@FDCTheatreAward</u> and on <u>Facebook</u>.

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com