

2016 ACT Awards winners announced

The Sophiatown-themed 19th annual Arts & Culture Trust (ACT) Awards were held on Friday night, 21 October, at Sun International's The Maslow Hotel.

At the core of the awards is the announcement of Lifetime Achievement recipients who have each had a lifelong commitment to the arts, and this year, six luminaries were recognised. The recipients are nominated by the ACT Board of Trustees and selected by current and previous ACT trustees. This year, ACT honoured Pieter-Dirk Uys for Theatre, Johnny Clegg for Music, Penny Siopis for Visual Art, Dr Mongane Wally Serote for Literature, Albie Sachs for Arts Advocacy and Johaar Mosaval for Dance.



ACT Lifetime Achievment Award winners: Johnny Gegg, Reter-Dirk Uys, Albie Sachs, Mongane Wally Serote, Penny Siopis, Johaar Mosaval. Rc John Hogg

"Our list of South African icons would not be complete without entering the names of these remarkable individuals alongside the likes of Miriam Makeba, Nadine Gordimer and Dr. John Kani, to mention a few," says ACT CEO, Pieter Jacobs. "Their exemplary careers have enriched the arts and culture industry significantly, leaving a legacy that inspires young artists, such as the ImpACT Award recipients, to strive to reach a high level of excellence in their chosen fields."

ImpACT Award winners

The ImpACT Awards for young professionals are given annually to honour young artists or businesses that have reached a notable level in their career. Visual artist Chepape Makgato; singer Thandi Ntuli; actor Mkhululi Z. Mabija; designer Jody Paulsen; and dancer Sunnyboy Motau were named the 2016 ImpACT Award winners. Each winner will receive R10,000 and additional PR opportunities that will be generated through the ACT Awards. ImpACT Award recipients will also get ongoing backing from ACT in the form of promotional support in their professional careers.



Mkhululi Mabija, Sunnyboy Motau, Simone Benjamin, Gerhard Claasen, Jody Paulsen, Rupert Hermanus, Chepape Makgato, Thandi Ntuli. Rc John Hogg

The 19th annual ACT Awards was hosted by Sun International in association with the National Lotteries Commission (NLC), and supported by Business and Arts South Africa (BASA). The Southern African Music Rights Organisation (SAMRO) sponsors the Lifetime Award for Music, the Dramatic, Artistic and Literary Rights Organisation (DALRO) for Theatre, Media24 Books for Literature, the Nedbank Arts Affinity for Visual Art, JTI for Dance and Creative Feel for Arts Advocacy, which will see recipients each receiving R45,000.

For more information, go to www.act.org.za.

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com