

kykNET Fiëstas 2013 celebrates top Afrikaans theatre

With eight nominations, Wessel Pretorius walked away with the laurels in four categories: Best Actor, Best Achievement in a Solo Performance, Best Newly Created Afrikaans Performance and Best Upcoming Artist for the production Ont at the third annual kykNET Fiëstas held late last week.



Wessel Pretorius

Other big winners included Oskar en die Pienk Tannie which won three Fiëstas for Best Actress: Sandra Prinsloo, Best Director: Lara Bye as well as the award for Best Presentation. Op dees Aarde received two awards for Best Supporting Actress: Karli Heine and Best Theatre Design.

Janine Neethling was also a double Fiëstas winner for Best Achievement in a Music-driven Production (Wierook en Mirre) and Best Achievement in Classical Music - together with Bridget Rennie-Salonen and Elizabeth Rennie-Furtner- for Trio met 'n Twist.

Visual and auditory festival for the senses

In addition, the kykNET Fiëstas was a visual and auditory festival for the senses, featuring a sterling production from theatre great, Ian von Memerty, and technical production genius from award winning director, Jaco Bouwer, paying fitting homage to its iconic venue of the SA State Theatre in Pretoria. The awards production also featured top notch performances by Laurika Rauch, Elvis Blue, Emo Adams and emerging star soprano, Friedel Mitas as well as the Mzansi Youth Choir, the Tshwane Dance Company and a 12-piece live band.

The Fiëstas presented awards in fifteen categories, as well as three Lifetime Achievement Awards to legends of the industry - PG du Plessis (Word Art), Athol Fugard (Theatre) and May Abrahamse (Music) - for their continued commitment to the development of Afrikaans theatre.

The kykNET Fiestas also gave the public the opportunity to choose their favourites and, following SMS-voting, the Most

Popular Fiesta Presenter was awarded to André van der Merwe and Most Popular Festival to the Klein Karoo Nasionale Kunstefees (KKNK).

"We believe the kykNET Fiëstas has become an awards institution and, importantly, a vital platform to showcase the best in Afrikaans theatre and arts. Once again we are incredibly happy with the ceremony and would like to extend our congratulations to all the worthy winners and nominees," comments Karen Meiring, head of kykNET.

The list of kykNET Fiëstas winners is:

- 1. Best Actor Wessel Pretorius- Ont
- 2. Best Actress Sandra Prinsloo Oskar en die pienk tannie
- 3. Best Supporting Actor Stian Bam Bos / Babbel / Vrou vantevore
- 4. Best Supporting Actress Karli Heine Op dees Aarde
- 5. Best Director Lara Bye Oskar en die pienk tannie
- 6. Best Theatre Design Marthinus Basson Op dees Aarde
 Best Achievement in a Music-driven Production Janine Neethling (Music director and processing) Wierook
 en Mirre
- 7. Best Achievement in Solo Performance Wessel Pretorius Ont
- 8. Best Newly Created Afrikaans Performance Wessel Pretorius Ont
- 9. Best Upcoming Artist Wessel Pretorius Ont
- 10. Best Achievement in Classical Music Janine Neethling, Bridget Rennie-Salonen, Elizabeth Rennie-Furtner Trio met 'n Twist
- 11. Best Achievement in Dance and Physical Theatre Nicola Elliott & Underground Dance Theatre (production) Keepsake Minus 3
- 12. Best Achievement in Visual Art Katie Barnard du Toit Vrees en Verlies
- 13. Best Music Production 'n Plekkie in die son
- 14. Best Presentation Oskar en die pienk tannie

The kykNET Fiëstas were sponsored by kykNET, Clover, Die Dagbreek Trust and Toyota. The awards show will also be broadcast on kykNET (DSTV channel 144) on 4 April at 8pm.

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com