

82nd Annual Academy Awards nominees

On Sunday, 7 March 2010, movie buffs will be glued to their tv sets to find out who walks home with a sought-after Oscar at the 82nd Annual Academy Awards. We've seen some top-class productions come out of the industry, but some proper hogwash as well. The awards is meant to thank the former and remind us why it's a multi-billion dollar industry. Here are the nominees...

82nd Annual Academy Award nominations:

Actor in a Leading Role

- Jeff Bridges in "Crazy Heart"
- George Clooney in "Up in the Air"
- Colin Firth in "A Single Man"
- Morgan Freeman in "Invictus"
- Jeremy Renner in "The Hurt Locker"

Actor in a Supporting Role

- Matt Damon in "Invictus"
- Woody Harrelson in "The Messenger"
- Christopher Plummer in "The Last Station"
- Stanley Tucci in "The Lovely Bones"
- Christoph Waltz in "Inglourious Basterds"

Actress in a Leading Role

- Sandra Bullock in "The Blind Side"
- Helen Mirren in "The Last Station"
- Carey Mulligan in "An Education"
- Gabourey Sidibe in "Precious: Based on the Novel 'Push' by Sapphire"
- Meryl Streep in "Julie & Julia"

Actress in a Supporting Role

- Penélope Cruz in "Nine"
- Vera Farmiga in "Up in the Air"
- Maggie Gyllenhaal in "Crazy Heart"
- Anna Kendrick in "Up in the Air"
- Mo'Nique in "Precious: Based on the Novel 'Push' by Sapphire"

Animated Feature Film

• "Coraline" Henry Selick "Fantastic Mr. Fox" Wes Anderson



- "Tihe Princess and the Frog" John Musker and Ron Clements
- "The Secret of Kells" Tomm Moore
- "Up" Pete Docter

Art Direction

- "Avatar" Art Direction: Rick Carter and Robert Stromberg; Set Decoration: Kim Sinclair
- "The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus" Art Direction: Dave Warren and Anastasia Masaro; Set Decoration: Caroline Smith
- "Nine" Art Direction: John Myhre; Set Decoration: Gordon Sim
- "Sherlock Holmes" Art Direction: Sarah Greenwood; Set Decoration: Katie Spencer
- "The Young Victoria" Art Direction: Patrice Vermette; Set Decoration: Maggie Gray

Cinematography

- "Avatar" Mauro Fiore
- "Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince" Bruno Delbonnel
- "The Hurt Locker" Barry Ackroyd
- "Inglourious Basterds" Robert Richardson
- "The White Ribbon" Christian Berger

Costume Design

- "Bright Star" Janet Patterson
- "Coco before Chanel" Catherine Leterrier
- "The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus" Monique Prudhomme
- "Nine" Colleen Atwood
- "The Young Victoria" Sandy Powell

Directing

- "Avatar" James Cameron
- "The Hurt Locker" Kathryn Bigelow
- "Inglourious Basterds" Quentin Tarantino
- "Precious: Based on the Novel 'Push' by Sapphire" Lee Daniels
- "Up in the Air" Jason Reitman

Documentary (Feature)

- "Burma VJ" Anders Østergaard and Lise Lense-Møller
- "The Cove" Nominees to be determined
- "Food, Inc." Robert Kenner and Elise Pearlstein
- "The Most Dangerous Man in America: Daniel Ellsberg and the Pentagon Papers" Judith Ehrlich and Rick Goldsmith
- "Which Way Home" Rebecca Cammisa

Documentary (Short Subject)

- "China's Unnatural Disaster: The Tears of Sichuan Province" Jon Alpert and Matthew O'Neill
- "The Last Campaign of Governor Booth Gardner" Daniel Junge and Henry Ansbacher
- "The Last Truck: Closing of a GM Plant" Steven Bognar and Julia Reichert
- "Music by Prudence" Roger Ross Williams and Elinor Burkett
- "Rabbit à la Berlin" Bartek Konopka and Anna Wydra

Film Editing

- "Avatar" Stephen Rivkin, John Refoua and James Cameron
- "District 9" Julian Clarke
- "The Hurt Locker" Bob Murawski and Chris Innis
- "Inglourious Basterds" Sally Menke
- "Precious: Based on the Novel 'Push' by Sapphire" Joe Klotz

Foreign Language Film

- "Ajami" Israel
- "El Secreto de Sus Ojos" Argentina
- "The Milk of Sorrow" Peru
- "Un Prophète" France
- "The White Ribbon" Germany

Makeup

- "Il Divo" Aldo Signoretti and Vittorio Sodano
- "Star Trek" Barney Burman, Mindy Hall and Joel Harlow
- "The Young Victoria" Jon Henry Gordon and Jenny Shircore

Music (Original Score)

- "Avatar" James Horner
- "Fantastic Mr. Fox" Alexandre Desplat
- "The Hurt Locker" Marco Beltrami and Buck Sanders
- "Sherlock Holmes" Hans Zimmer
- "Up" Michael Giacchino

Music (Original Song)

- "Almost There" from "The Princess and the Frog" Music and Lyric by Randy Newman
- "Down in New Orleans" from "The Princess and the Frog" Music and Lyric by Randy Newman
- "Loin de Paname" from "Paris 36" Music by Reinhardt Wagner Lyric by Frank Thomas
- "Take It All" from "Nine" Music and Lyric by Maury Yeston
- "The Weary Kind (Theme from Crazy Heart)" from "Crazy Heart" Music and Lyric by Ryan Bingham and T Bone Burnett

Best Picture

- "Avatar" James Cameron and Jon Landau, Producers
- "The Blind Side" Nominees to be determined
- "District 9" Peter Jackson and Carolynne Cunningham, Producers
- "An Education" Finola Dwyer and Amanda Posey, Producers
- "The Hurt Locker" Nominees to be determined
- "Inglourious Basterds" Lawrence Bender, Producer
- "Precious: Based on the Novel 'Push' by Sapphire" Lee Daniels, Sarah Siegel-Magness and Gary Magness, Producers
- "A Serious Man" Joel Coen and Ethan Coen, Producers
- "Up" Jonas Rivera, Producer
- "Up in the Air" Daniel Dubiecki, Ivan Reitman and Jason Reitman, Producers

Short Film (Animated)

- "French Roast" Fabrice O. Joubert
- "Granny O'Grimm's Sleeping Beauty" Nicky Phelan and Darragh O'Connell
- "The Lady and the Reaper (La Dama y la Muerte)" Javier Recio Gracia
- "Logorama" Nicolas Schmerkin
- "A Matter of Loaf and Death" Nick Park

Short Film (Live Action)

- "The Door" Juanita Wilson and James Flynn
- "Instead of Abracadabra" Patrik Eklund and Mathias Fjellström
- "Kavi" Gregg Helvey
- "Miracle Fish" Luke Doolan and Drew Bailey
- "The New Tenants" Joachim Back and Tivi Magnusson

Sound Editing

- "Avatar" Christopher Boyes and Gwendolyn Yates Whittle
- "The Hurt Locker" Paul N.J. Ottosson
- "Inglourious Basterds" Wylie Stateman
- "Star Trek" Mark Stoeckinger and Alan Rankin
- "Up" Michael Silvers and Tom Myers

Sound Mixing

- "Avatar" Christopher Boyes, Gary Summers, Andy Nelson and Tony Johnson
- "The Hurt Locker" Paul N.J. Ottosson and Ray Beckett
- "Inglourious Basterds" Michael Minkler, Tony Lamberti and Mark Ulano
- "Star Trek" Anna Behlmer, Andy Nelson and Peter J. Devlin
- "Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen" Greg P. Russell, Gary Summers and Geoffrey Patterson

Visual Effects

- "Avatar" Joe Letteri, Stephen Rosenbaum, Richard Baneham and Andrew R. Jones
- "District 9" Dan Kaufman, Peter Muyzers, Robert Habros and Matt Aitken
- "Star Trek" Roger Guyett, Russell Earl, Paul Kavanagh and Burt Dalton

Writing (Adapted Screenplay)

- "District 9" Written by Neill Blomkamp and Terri Tatchell
- "An Education" Screenplay by Nick Hornby
- "In the Loop" Screenplay by Jesse Armstrong, Simon Blackwell, Armando Iannucci, Tony Roche
- "Precious: Based on the Novel 'Push' by Sapphire" Screenplay by Geoffrey Fletcher
- "Up in the Air" Screenplay by Jason Reitman and Sheldon Turner

Writing (Original Screenplay)

- "The Hurt Locker" Written by Mark Boal
- "Inglourious Basterds" Written by Quentin Tarantino
- "The Messenger" Written by Alessandro Camon & Oren Moverman
- "A Serious Man" Written by Joel Coen & Ethan Coen
- "Up" Screenplay by Bob Peterson, Pete Docter, Story by Pete Docter, Bob Peterson, Tom McCarthy

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com