

2016 Simon Mabhunu Sabela Film and Television Awards winners announced

On 18 June 2016, the Simon Mabhunu Sabela Film Awards were held at the ICC in Durban. Named in honour of the late South African Film legend and icon Simon Mabhunu Sabela, the awards are an initiative of the KZN Department of Economic Development, Tourism and Environmental Affairs and are implemented by the KwaZulu-Natal Film Commission.



They recognise outstanding achievers and excellence within the South African and international film industry.

This year's awards were themed 'Sarafina', paying homage to the iconic South African movie that paved a new way for the South African film industry and catapulted it onto the global stage. Critically, these awards celebrated the passion of young filmmakers in this country and their courage to use this medium as an instrument to take the amazing South African story to the world. The theme was also in line with the commemoration of 40 years since the Soweto uprising, where the youth of South Africa took to the street in protest against the imposition of Afrikaans as a medium of instruction, ushering in a new chapter in the history of South Africa and catapulting the struggle for political change to another level.

The chairperson of the KwaZulu-Natal Film Commission Board, Welcome Msomi said, "The KZNFC is glad to provide a platform which enables the youth of this province to showcase their talent and grow in film."

Winners

- 1. Best Actress in a Microbudget Film Mandisa Nduna "Ms Msomi" iLungelo
- 2. Best Microbudget Film iLungelo Durban Motion Pictures
- 3. Best Newcomer Actress in a Microbudget Film Nomalanga Ndaba "Noma" Isihlangu Somntanami
- 4. Best Newcomer Actor in a Microbudget Film Ntokozo Sibisi "Mnqobi" Konke Kufeziwe
- 5. Best Student Film Davids Winter- Mathew Couperthwaite and Liana Hassim
- 6. Best Use of KZN as a Location Imbulu Zulu Hut Productions
- 7. Best Actor in a Microbudget Film Scelo Gasa "Phanta" Uk'shizila
- 8. Best Supporting Actress in a Microbudget Film Bongekile Mpisane "Qhamukile" Luthando 2
- 9. Best Director in a Microbudget Film Philani Sithebe iLungelo
- 10. Best Documentary Full Length Triangle of Faith Jayan Moodley
- 11. IsiZulu Film Isihlangu Somntanami Zulu Hut Productions
- 12. Best Screenplay in a Microbudget Film Philani Sithebe iLungelo
- 13. Best Documentary Short The mystical powers of water- Tekweni Productions
- 14. Best Actor TV Vusi Kunene Isibaya 3
- 15. Best Actress TV Dawn Thandeka King Uzalo
- 16. Best Supporting Actor TV Bheki Mkhwane Isibaya 3

- 17. Best Supporting Actress TV Celeste Ntuli Isibaya 3
- 18. KwaZulu-Natal Film Commission Special Awards Phindile Dhludhla
- 19. MEC Discretionary Award Thoko Ntshinga; Somizi Mhlongo

For more, visit: https://www.bizcommunity.com