

Pretoria to host first World Conference of Science Journalists on African soil in 2025

The 2025 World Conference of Science Journalists will be held in Pretoria, the administrative Capital of South Africa, carrying the theme *Science Journalism and Social Justice – Our role in promoting resilience*.



Source: www.unsplash.com

Privilege

"It's a great privilege to host the World Conference of Science Journalists 2025," says Mandi Smallhorne, president of SASJA. "As it is the first time the conference has ever been held on African soil, this is truly a historic event, we're delighted to be the pioneers! We look forward to welcoming the science journalists of the world to our home; we are sure it will be an eye-opening and rewarding experience.

"Our beautiful country has a lot to share, and that includes some fascinating scientific experiences, from the Square Kilometre Array, to cutting edge genomic sequencing, to the Cradle of Humankind. We are brewing plans for a tempting combination: an engaging, relevant and stimulating programme of content which will offer opportunities for both inspiration and growth, and a bouquet of day trips and longer options to explore our science initiatives and the natural and cultural glories of our country." The programme, she adds, will expand on the theme of Science Journalism and Social Justice, looking at the role our profession can play in providing information that builds understanding and resilience.



A decade of honouring Komla Dumor: *BBC News* Award search begins
19 Feb 2024

<

South Africa showed its scientific chops during the pandemic, always ahead of the game with genomic results which moved through the scientific community and informed policy and practice worldwide. It has a wealth of policy advisory bodies, funding agencies, higher education institutions, science and technology performing institutions which paints our country's collective efforts towards fostering technological innovation.

Pretoria, city in Gauteng province and administrative capital of the Republic of South Africa is primarily a seat of

