

All the 2020 Radio Awards winners announced!

All the winners of the 2020 Radio Awards were announced online by host and comedian Loyiso Madinga on Friday, 17 April 2020.



Comedian Loyiso Madinga, hosting the Awards live from his couch.

The Radio Awards, now in its tenth year, is the leading recognition platform for celebrating outstanding talent in the South African radio industry.

This year's Station of the Year Awards went to Kaya 95.9 FM (Commercial), Hot 91.9 FM (Community), Radio 2000 (PBS), and Tuks FM (Campus).

Station of the Year winners were determined by the number of times they appeared as a finalist across all general categories of the Radio Awards. Each of the finalists submitted a further motivation which spoke to the station's innovation, audience growth, community outreach, general achievements, as well as their 'x-factor'. This motivation was then scored by the Radio Awards advisory panel. This score accounted for the first half of a station's final score, and the second half of the final score was determined by a station's success in the other categories.

Record number of entries

"Congratulations to all of the finalists, and especially the winners for producing dynamic, captivating radio for the South African listening audience," says Taryn Westoby, head of Arena Events which manages the Radio Awards.

It's been a challenging period in the face of the Covid-19 pandemic, and making the Radio Awards happen this year – albeit on an online platform – has meant that the tireless work of radio stations around the country can be highlighted at a time when good news is really welcomed.

A record number of entries (more than 2,000) were received from a record number of stations (more than 160) in this year's edition of the Radio Awards. Entries were adjudicated by a team of 54 judges and reviewed by BDO South Africa, the newly appointed auditors for the Radio Awards.



More than 80 award winners were celebrated across 25 categories. Seven Bright Stars were announced, and five industry stalwarts were inducted into the Hall of Fame, including Brian Oxley, Gabriel Urgoiti, Neil Johnson, Peter Wise and Rev. Prince Zulu.

In the two listener's choice categories, the My Station Most Votes Award went to Ligwalagwala FM, which received the most online votes from the listening public. The My Station Loyal Listeners Award went to Hot 91.9 FM for receiving the most public votes as a ratio against its Rams figures.

Inaugural Station Manager's Choice Award

This was also the first year for the Station Manager's Choice Award – an award recognising the contributions made by behind-the-scenes station employees. The inaugural award was presented to two individuals: Marika de Jongh of OFM, and Linda van Schalkwyk of Pretoria FM.

The recipient of the Radio Awards Bursary Award is Nthapeleng "Tsholo" Moteka.

"This year's awards would not have happened as successfully without the firm commitment from numerous individuals. We'd like to thank the members of our advisory board, the adjudication panel, BDO South Africa and the NAB for giving of their time to ensure the Radio Awards remain relevant, credible and independent. A high bar has been set for 2021, and we look forward to the year ahead," concludes Westoby.

Station of the Year			
Campus	Tuks FM 107.2		
Community	Hot 91.9 FM		
PBS	Radio 2000		
Commercial	Kaya FM 95.9		
Bright Star			
Alex White	RX Radio		
Christopher Baloyi	Kaya FM 95.9		
Makhosandile Mpunzi	TruFM		
Mienke Van Rooyen	OFM		
Siya Motha	Voice of Wits		
Thabang Maluleke	Kaya FM 95.9		
Wayne Boonzaaier	RX Radio		
Hall of Fame			
Brian Oxley			

Gabriel Urgoiti				
Neil Johnson				
Peter Wise				
Rev. Prince Zulu				
Station Managers Choice				
OFM	Marika De Jongh			
Pretoria FM	Linda Van Schalkwyk			
My Station – Most Votes				
Ligwalagwla FM				
My Station - Most Loyal Listen	er			
Hot 91.9 FM				
Afternoon Drive Presenter				
Campus	Tuks FM 107.2	Nthabeleng Matela		
Community	Radio Khwezi	Saziso Dlamini		
PBS	Motsweding FM	Lucky "LTK" Komanisi		
Commercial	947	Thato 'DJ Fresh' Sikwane		
Afternoon Drive Show	•	The Source of th		
Campus	PukFM 93.6	PukFM Drive		
Community	GrootFM 90.5	#Slatdiepad		
PBS	Lesedi FM	Rea Kubeletsa Afternoon Drive Show		
Commercial	CapeTalk 567 AM	Afternoon Drive With John Maytham		
Breakfast Show Presenter	1.50.0			
Campus	MFM 92.6	Nicholas Archibald		
Community	Hot 91.9 FM	Jeremy Mansfield		
PBS	Lotus FM	O'neil Nair		
Commercial	KFM 94.5	Darren Simpson		
Breakfast Show				
Campus	Tuks FM 107.2	The Tuks FM Breakfast Show		
Community	Hot 91.9 FM	Mansfield in the Moming		
PBS	Motsweding FM	Di Rage		
Commercial	Jacaranda FM	Breakfast with Martin Bester		
Best Internet Radio Show				
Combined	East Coast Gold	The More Music Breakfast Show		
Business And Finance Show	1			
Combined	CapeTalk & 702	The Money Show		
Community Project		,		
Campus	Tuks FM 107.2	Tuks FM's See the Sounds - A Radio Broadcast for the Deaf		
Community	Ngubeko FM	Africa Day Event		
PBS	Thobela FM	Ditlalemeso		
Commercial	Jacaranda FM	Good Morning Angels - Hearts of Hope		
Content Producer	Jacardi Ida i IVI			
Campus and Community	Hot 91.9 FM	Mansfield In the Moming: William Scott and Sam Cowen		
Combined	Dadia 2000	The Toughline Chaus Tiesens T.M		
PBS	Radio 2000	The Touchline Show: Timmy T Maranda		
Commercial	KFM 94.5	KFM Mornings with Darren, Sherlin And Sibs: Jeanne Michel, Brad O'regan And Rameez Khan		
Daytime Show				
Campus	PukFM 93.6	International Top 40		
Community	Groot FM 90.5	Kom ons praat daaroor (Let's talk about it)		
PBS	Radio 2000	Kings And Queens		
Commercial	Metro FM	Lunch with Thomas & Pearl		
Drama Programme				
Combined	KFM 94.5	KFM Mornings with Darren, Sherlin And Sibs		
Field News Reporter				
Combined	Kaya FM 95.9	Gavin Emmanuel		
	. ,			

Multi-Channel Promotion		
Combined	Smile 90.4FM	The Smile 90.4fm Two Million Rand Competition
Music Show	1	
Campus	Tuks FM 107.2	The Tuks FM Top 40
Community	Groot FM 90.5	Gister se Grotes
PBS	TruFM	TruFM Top 30
Commercial	KFM 94.5	The Coke Top40 Sa With Carl Wastie
News and Actuality Show		·
Campus and Community	0 1 = 1 1 0 0 =	
Combined	Groot FM 90.5	Reg of Verkeerd
PBS	RSG	Sutherland Droogte - Monitor
Commercial	Kaya FM 95.9	Today with John Perlman
News Bulletin Reader	1	
Campus	Voice of Wits	Lindiwe Mpanza
Community	Hot 91.9 FM	Nobuhle Nkhoma
PBS	SaFM	Jwalane Thulo
Commercial	Metro FM	Relebogile Mabotja
Night-Time Show	D El 00 0	
Campus	PukFM 93.6	Local Top 30
Community	Radio Khwezi	Sakha Isizwe
PBS	Umhlobo Wenene FM	Umxholo Kumhlobo
Commercial	East Coast Radio	The Damon Beard Show
Podcast		
Combined	Kaya FM 95.9	25 Years of Democracy
Promotions Stunt/Event		
Campus	Tuks FM 107.2	Tuks FM's See the Sounds - A Radio Broadcast for the Deaf
Community	Hot 91.9 FM	Hot 91.9fm Teddython
PBS	Thobela FM	Moswa Le Bokamoso
Commercial	Kaya FM 95.9	The B Side
Radio Documentary	1	
Combined	Power 98.7	'Justice Before We Die'
Radio Innovation	1	
Combined	KFM 94.5	Big September
Sports Presenter	1	
Combined	Heart FM	Nick Feinberg
Sports Show		
Campus and Community	Hot 91.9 FM	Hot Sport
PBS	Radio 2000	The Touchline Show
Commercial	East Coast Radio	Rugby World Cup Updates With G-Dog
Station Imaging		
Campus and Community	UJFM	
PBS	Radio 2000	
Commercial	Kaya FM 95.9	
Traffic Presenter	.,	
Combined	YFM	Jessica Bouverie
Weekend Radio Show		
Campus	UCT Radio	Top 30
Community	Hot 91.9 FM	The Classic Countdown with Kevin Savage
PBS	Radio 2000	The Weekend Favour
Commercial	KFM 94.5	The Coke Top40 SA With Carl Wastie
Continuida	IN IVI 34.J	THE COING TOPTO OF WHILL CALL WASHE

In case you missed it, you can watch the online awards ceremony here:

